Quitting my well-paying job to make art in a garden shed

Hi, my name is Dóri, and I am an artist.

Or so I would like to say.

I am 31 years old, and for the last 6 years and 10 months (ever since graduating university), I have been working for a local branch of a giant Japanese corporation, one that trades in small automotive components. How does a self proclaimed ’artist’ end up in a place like that? The short answer: I speak Japanese fluently, which is a relatively rare skill in my country, and at the time of my graduation, there was no other acceptable option in my mind than to get a job where I can use my language skills. That is how I landed in the automotive industry, in a position that has no room at all for artistic creativity.

I enjoyed being part of the team, and I have always felt appreciated and respected by my management too. I’ve been their Japanese translator, interpreter, and over the years I’ve supported the processes of custom clearance, accounting, logistics, and acted as their sales representative. I have gotten several chances to visit our business partners on the other side of the globe, and the headquarters of our corporation in Tokyo. I liked my job (especially the early years), I was even proud of my role there, but in the back of my mind it all felt like a ’plan B’ that got out of hand.

I could say that all my life I have followed the path of one ’plan B’ after another. It is not a bad path: as much of a cliché as it sounds, I have learned valuable lessons with every step of it. But it is time for me to return to my roots.

Ever since I can remember, I have always wanted to do one thing: to make art. It began as soon as I was able to hold a pencil, and it has always been the strongest part of my identity, I was drawing, painting, making snow sculptures of animals, I have always, always wanted to create.

The detour started when I was about to enter elementary school. My mom ended up deciding against sending me to the one school in our city that specialized in art education, due to her bad impression of the teachers there.

I performed well in school, and my path was pretty much set from that point until today. Get into the strongest high school of the city – check, get into a good university – check, get a scholarship abroad – check, graduate with a master’s degree – check, get a nice job – check.

I’ve lived a convenient life, rich in experiences, and I’m grateful for every one of them, but all along, I have never had enough time to satisfy my oldest urge. To make art.

It is time to stop sacrificing my creative energies, my true calling, my soul for a job that no longer brings me any joy.

I have announced at the company that I am leaving. I have said goodbye to a nice salary in the middle of the pandemic. It might turn out to be a catastrophic choice of timing, but I don’t feel the slightest bit of regret. I finally feel alive again, and more excited than I have been for a very long time.

I don’t know for sure if I will be able to support myself solely with my art. I might not even be suited for such solitary work long term.

I only know that I need to give it a try, and if I do, this is the perfect time. I cannot put it aside any longer, and I am not responsible for anyone but myself for now – no children, no pets.

Oh, and the garden shed I mentioned in the title of this blog post?

Well, a shed might be too belittling of a name, let’s call it a mini cabin.

Using some of the money that I have saved, I have purchased a pretty little piece of land (technically, the registration of the ownership change is still not finished, but fingers crossed it will be done soon). The property lies on the countryside – lots of green, sunshine and fresh air, a beautiful view to the hills, nonstop bird song, regular visits of the deer from the surrounding woods…

My savings will be enough to keep me afloat for a few months, and I have enough to build a super tiny cabin on the property. That cabin will be my first real Art Studio, which I have been longing for for such a long time. I am building myself a whole new workplace, and a new, more fulfilling life.

One thought on “Quitting my well-paying job to make art in a garden shed

Leave a comment